Chekhov’s Band: Eastern European Klezmer Music from the EMI Archives 1908-1913

Chekhov flyer scan

New groundbreaking anthology (September 2015) of previously unknown pre-World War I recordings of Jewish instrumental klezmer music from Odessa, Kharkov, Poltava, Czernowitz, Lemberg, Vilna by artists including the virtuoso clarinetist Titunshnayder and the violinists Jascha Gegner and Oscar Zehngut, Bak’s Jewish Wedding Orchestra, Giter’s Orchestra, and the Czernowitzer Civilkapelle. Produced by Julian Futter for Renair Records with liner notes by Joel E. Rubin and Michael Aylward.

Available from Honest Jon’s: Honest Jon’s (UK)

and from Forced Exposure (US): Forced Exposure as of October 30, 2015


Forward (English)

Forward (Yiddish)

The Wire

IEMJ (Eléonore Biezunski, French)

Folk Roots review:

Layout 1












Uncut review:

Uncut review Chekhov













Songlines review:

Songlines review Chekhov SL114Europe-p56-57